Grammy, Tony and Emmy award winner Harry Connick, Jr. releases in October 2001 on Sony Music record his next best thing to a “Disney album”.
Songs I Heard” is a collection of innovative takes on best loved songs from classic movies and shows such as Mary Poppins, The Sound Of Music, The Wizard Of Oz and Willy Wonka that he enjoyed as a child and that are presented as swingy, band renditions, arranged, orchestrated and conducted by Harry Connick Jr. himself.

Our personal favourite and appealing tracks on the album are the three “Mary Poppins” songs and his touchy and melancholic version of the Judy Garland/Dorothy classic “Over The Rainbow” from “The Wizard Of Oz“.
Poppins classics such as “Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious” and “Spoonful of Sugar” are delivered as bright, full New Orleans swing numbers infused with the energy of a Mardi Gras street band, while “Stay Awake” is “crooned” as a lovely, nostalgic lullaby.

About his approach to the music material Connick commented that his intentions were not to make a children album: “It’s a fun record, but it’s definitely for adults, I take these songs seriously”, he said.

Track Listing:
01. Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious
02. The Lonely Goatherd
03. Ding Dong! The Witch Is Dead
04. Maybe
05. Pure Imagination / Candy Man
06. Golden Ticket / I Want It Now
07. Oompa Loompa
08. A Spoonful of Sugar
09. Stay Awake
10. Something Was Missing
11. You’re Never Fully Dressed Without A Smile
12. Over The Rainbow
13. The Jitterbug
14. Merry Old Land Of OZ
15. Edelweiss
16. Do-Re-Mi